Tuesday 6 April 2010

Introducing the 2010 Rumrunners

Last night 16 owners met at Shoeless Joe's in Oakville for the 2010 draft for The Great White North fantasy baseball league.

No small deal.

This league has been in existence since 1990. This draft would bring in the 21st season for the league.

And for the Rumrunners!

I sat in at that original first draft. Over the past 20 seasons, the Rumrunners have won 2 East Division Seasonal Championships, 3 East Division Playoff Championships and 1 Dean Anderson Cup, named after the league founder and presented to the league champion.

My last visit to the league championships was 2 seasons ago, which I not only lost badly but had players injured during the series, that would not play at all the following year.

Time for a return visit. Time to bring the Dean Anderson Cup home.

I had a solid base of 12 protected players going into the draft but had lower draft picks to fill out the other 12 positions. The Rumrunners came out of the draft rather well and with working the waiver wire during the year, avoiding the injury bug plus having a pitching staff anchored by Ricky Romero and Matt Holliday of the Cardinals leading the offense, (both pictured) a championship is within reach

It is a head-to-head competition every week, with 3 games per week being played by each team. Hopes are to start the season with 3 wins in Week 1.

Here is the 2010 edition of the Rumrunners starting lineup:

C- Ryan Doumit – Pitts
1B-Aubrey Huff – SF
2B-Dustin Pedrioa - Bos
3B-Michael Young- Tex
SS-Ryan Theriot - Cubs
OF-Chris Coghlan- FL
OF-Jacoby Ellsbury- Bos
OF-Matt Holiday- StL
DH-Mark Teahen-ChiSox
SP-Ricky Romano- Tor
SP-Scott Feldman- Tex
SP-Derek Lowe- Atl
SP-Randy Wells- Cubs
RP-Brian Fuentes-Ana

2010 ... the year of the Rumrunner!

1 comment:

Teena in Toronto said...

Good luck! But you know it's not real :)